8. Avocado, Feta & Rocket Toast With Caramelised Lemon & Spicy Tomato Relish

Inspiration this week has come all the way from sunny Brisbane. When my Mum went there last year she took a photo of a delicious breakfast she had and loved. I couldn’t wait to give it a try. At first I thought it would be a good idea to buy a nice tomato relish from the supermarket and use that, but when I found this recipe I though I’d try making it myself.

This breakfast was delicious. The chutney was surprisingly easy to make, and super good too. I loved the idea of caramelising the lemons, I never would have thought of it myself. Although this breakfast took longer than I thought, it was easy and mouth-watering. The only thing I did wrong was that I made the relish in a frypan instead of a saucepan, which didn’t make a whole lot of difference in the end anyway.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

Spicy Tomato Relish
4 medium ripe tomatoes
1 tbs oil
1 small onion
1 medium red chilli
1 garlic clove
¼ cup brown sugar
¼ white or brown vinegar

Everything Else
Ciabatta loaf
1 medium lemon
1 ripe avocado
Rocket
120g feta

Method:

First you need to make the relish. The recipe suggests leaving the relish a few days before using it but I just made it the night before and it turned out fine. First, get your tomatoes and make two slits at the top of each and place in boiling water for 1-2 minutes or until the skins start to crack open. Then peel the skins off and de-seed them. Dice the tomatoes into small cubes.

Finely dice the onion and chilli. Cook for a few minutes or until the onion has become browned. Then add the garlic and cook for an extra minute.

Once the onion has been browned, add the diced tomatoes, brown sugar, and vinegar. Season to taste. Continue to cook for about an hour or until all the juices have been absorbed.

Once the relish is ready, scoop it out into a bowl. Cover it with cling film and put it into the fridge and leave it overnight.

The next day slice your bread and lemons and place into a griddle pan. Brush the bread with a little olive oil and cook until lightly toasted.

Cook the lemons for 2-3 minutes or until they turn golden and caramelised.

While everything is cooking, slice up the avocado and feta. When the bread and lemons are ready, start assembling everything together. Place the bread on a plate and add a few slices of avocado and a bit of rocket. Then crumble feta over the top and place a lemon on the side. Finally add a dollop of the delicious relish on the side and serve!

So, was this my ideal breakfast? Yes/No/Maybe
Would I make it again? Yes/No/Maybe
Would I recommend it? Yes/No/Maybe

6 thoughts on “8. Avocado, Feta & Rocket Toast With Caramelised Lemon & Spicy Tomato Relish

  1. This looks great! This could definitely be my ideal breakfast.. Think I’ll give it a go! Ps. I think it would be great with a poached egg too

Leave a Reply

